# The Florida Educational Negotiators



# **Annual Business Meeting Minutes**

Meeting Date: Tuesday May 16, 2017, 03:00 PM

Meeting Location: Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort

Executive Boardroom B 100 North Atlantic Avenue Daytona Beach, FL

Meeting Participants			
Bill Graham	Executive Director	Florida Educational Negotiators	$\boxtimes$
Brennan Asplen	President	St. Johns County	$\boxtimes$
Elizabeth Kuhn	President-Elect	Pasco County	
Kelly Krostag	Past President	Escambia County	$\boxtimes$
John Boyd	Secretary	Osceola County	$\boxtimes$
Brent Brummet	Area I Director	Escambia County	$\boxtimes$
Karen Peddie	Area II Director	Franklin County	$\boxtimes$
Deborah Decubellis	Area III Director	Putnam County	$\boxtimes$
Heather Martin	Area IV Director	Hernando County	$\boxtimes$
Mark West	Area V Director	Hillsborough County	×
Gloria Arazoza	Area VI Director	Miami-Dade County	×

Proxies: N/A

Guest: N/A

#### I. Call to Order

- Bill Graham, Executive Director, called the meeting to order at 2:47 PM.
- A quorum of members was determined present.

# II. Reports from President and Executive Director

 Brennan Asplen, President, and Bill Graham, Executive Director, reviewed the content of the 2016-17 school years' monthly meetings, which included reports from school districts, attorneys, legislative liaisons, etc.

Prepared by: John Boyd, Secretary, Osceola County Revised: June 12, 2017 Page 1 of 2

# III. Proposed Amendments to Bylaws

## A. Signed Proxies for Board of Director Meetings

- Brent Brummet moved to vote on the amendment as submitted.
- Deborah Decubellis seconded the motion.
- o The members present voted unanimously to approve the motion with no amendments.

## B. Emergency Attendance at Board of Director Meetings via Telecommunications Devices

- Brent Brummet moved to vote on the amendment as submitted.
- Deborah Decubellis seconded the motion.
- The members present voted unanimously to approve the motion with no amendments.

#### IV. Election of Officers for 2017-18

- Bill Graham, Executive Director, reviewed the FEN Ballot for officers for the 2017-18 school year.
  - President: Elizabeth Kuhn, Pasco County
  - o President-Elect: John Boyd, Osceola County
  - o Secretary: Cathy Weber, St. Johns County
  - o Area II Director: Karen Peddie, Franklin County
  - o Area V Director: Mark West, Hillsborough County
  - o Area VI Director: Gloria Arazoza, Miami-Dade County
- Deborah Decubellis moved to vote on the FEN Ballot and its slate of officers as submitted.
- Brent Brummet seconded the motion.
- The members present voted unanimously to approve the motion with no amendments.

# V. Recognition of the 2016-17 President

• Bill Graham, Executive Director, presented Brennan Asplen, President, with a plaque to commemorate his service to our organization as President for the 2016-17 school year.

#### VI. Special Presentation

 Bill Graham, Executive Director, presented Martin Miller with a special Outstanding Service Award.

# VII. Recognition of Conference Sponsors

• Bill Graham, Executive Director, recognized and thanked all of the 2017-18 conference sponsors.

#### VIII. Members Comments

 Brenna Asplen, President, and Bill Graham, Executive Director, provided the opportunity to receive comments from members present. No member offered comments at this time.

#### IX. Adjournment

• Brennan Asplen, President, adjourned the meeting at 03:13 PM.

Prepared by: John Boyd, Secretary, Osceola County Revised: June 12, 2017 Page 2 of 2